STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

JiM HOOD
ATTORNEY GENERAL

OPINIONS
DIVISION

January 24, 2019

Sheriff Steve Rushing

Lincoln County

215 Justice Street
Brookhaven, Mississippi 39601

Re: Housing of MDOC Probation/Parole Violators in County Jails

Dear Sheriff Rushing:

Background and Issues Presented

Your request states:
| am requesting an official opinion on the following questions.

1. At what point does the Mississippi Department of Corrections (MDOC)
become responsible for the housing/medical costs of an inmate housed in
a county jail for a probation violation? Who is responsible for getting that
probationer before the judge within the 21 days as required by state law?
Finally, is MDOC responsible for the housing/medical costs of a
probationer the entire time they are housed in a county jail if such
offender’s probation has been revoked and that individual is awaiting
transfer to a MDOC Technical Violation Center?

2. Is MDOC responsible for the housing/medical costs of a parole violator
the entire time that person is housed in a county jail?

For instance, a person is brought to a county jail for a MDOC probation
violation on a MDOC field officer’'s warrant. The MDOC probation officer
then requests that the circuit judge issue a judge’s warrant for the same
offense. MDOC asserts that they are only responsible for the cost of the
inmate while he is held on the officer's warrant, not while the inmate is
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held on the judge’s probation violation warrant. MDOC further asserts that
the probationer's right to a hearing before the circuit judge within twenty
one (21) days becomes the responsibility of the Judge and not the field
officer. Then, if the probationer is revoked to a technical violation center,
MDOC takes the position they are only responsible for the cost of the first
21 days and any costs incurred after the 21 days is the county’s
responsibility.

We understand your questions to be:

1. Who is responsible for the housing/medical costs of an inmate housed in a county jail
for a probation violation?

2. Who is responsible for ensuring that an inmate appears before a circuit court judge
within twenty-one (21) days for a revocation hearing?

3. Who is responsible for housing and medical costs of an inmate who has been
revoked but has not been transferred to a Mississippi Department of Corrections
(MDOC) Technical Violation Center?

b |

Response

Section 47-7-37 of the Mississippi Code specifically deals with probation violations and
revocations and provides, in part:

(3) Whenever an offender is arrested on a warrant for an alleged violation of
probation as herein provided, the department shall hold an informal preliminary
hearing within seventy-two (72) hours of the arrest to determine whether there is
reasonable cause to believe the person has violated a condition of probation. A
preliminary hearing shall not be required when the offender is not under arrest on
a warrant or the offender signed a waiver of a preliminary hearing. The
preliminary hearing may be conducted electronically. If reasonable cause is
found, the offender may be confined no more than twenty-one (21) days from the
admission to detention until a revocation hearing is held. If the revocation hearing
is not held within twenty-one (21) days, the probationer shall be released from
custody and returned to probation status.

Miss. Code Ann. Section 47-7-37 (as amended). This statute discusses two distinct
hearings. The first is an “informal preliminary hearing” which appears to be an
administrative matter by MDOC. The second hearing is a “revocation hearing”
conducted by a court which must occur within twenty-one (21) days of arrest. If the
revocation hearing is not conducted by the court within twenty-one (21) days, the
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person “shall be released from custody and returned to probation status” by MDOC.
Section 47-7-37(2) provides for two types of arrest by warrant as follows:

(2) At any time during . . . probation, the court, . . . may issue a warrant for
violating any of the conditions of probation . . . and cause the probationer to be
arrested. Any probation and parole officer may arrest a probationer without a
warrant, or may deputize any other officer with power of arrest to do so by giving
him a written statement setting forth that the probationer has, in the
judgment of the probation and parole officer, violated the conditions of
probation. Such written statement delivered with the probationer by the
arresting officer to the official in charge of a county jail or other place of detention
shall be sufficient warrant for the detention of the probationer.

(Emphasis added.) Furthermore, Section 47-5-901(3)(c) states that if the probation or
parole of the offender is revoked, the additional cost of housing the offender pending the
revocation hearing is assessed as part of the offender’s court costs and shall be paid to
MDOC. In regard to your specific questions as we understand them, we provide the
following:

where offenders are held in a county jail “pending a . . . probation revocation hearing.”
This obligation is not dependent on the method of arrest or whether the warrant to arrest
the probationer is issued by the court or via statement by the probation officer. e note
that Section 47-5-901(3)(b) states that ‘[ulpon vouchers submitted by the board of
supervisors of any county housing offenders in county jails pending a probation or
parole revocation hearing, the department shall pay the reimbursement costs
provided in paragraph (a).” (Emphasis added.) We recall from a previous phone
conversation with you on December 6, 2018 that you stated you had not submitted any
type of bill to MDOC. In order to be reimbursed, you would need to have the board of
supervisors submit a voucher to MDOC pursuant to Section 47-5-901(3)(b}.

2. Who is responsible for ensuring that an inmate appears before a circuit
court judge within twenty-one (21) days for a revocation hearing?

In response to the second question, the statute states that the court is the entity that is
responsible for having the probationer brought before it within twenty-one (21) days.
Section 47-7-37(5)(a) states that “within twenty-one (21) days of arrest and detention by
warrant as herein provided, the court shall cause the probationer to be brought
before it and may continue or revoke all or any part of the probation or the suspension
of sentence.” (Emphasis added.) As a practical matter, the court has to rely on MDOC
or the Sheriff to inform the court that a violator has been arrested and when the
deadlines for a required judicial revocation hearing expire. A violator is typically in jail at
the behest, in some form, of MDOC. Section 47-7-37(3) states:
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Whenever an offender is arrested on a warrant for an alleged violation of
probation as herein provided, the department shall hold an informal
preliminary hearing within seventy-two (72) hours of the arrest to
determine whether there is reasonable cause to believe the person has
violated a condition of probation. A preliminary hearing shall not be
required when the offender is not under arrest on a warrant or the offender
signed a waiver of a preliminary hearing. The preliminary hearing may be
conducted electronically. If reasonable cause is found, the offender may
be confined no more than twenty-one (21) days from the admission
to detention until a revocation hearing is held. If the revocation
hearing is not held within twenty-one (21) days, the probationer shall
be released from custody and returned to probation status.

(Emphasis added.) If a probationer is not given a hearing within twenty-one (21) days,
the probationer is entitled to be released from custody and returned to probation status
by MDOC. For these reasons, the interests of both the Sheriff and MDOC are
implicated in that both have some part to play to ensure that the law is followed.

3. Who is responsible for housing and medical costs of an inmate who has
been revoked but has not been transferred to a Mississippi Department of
Corrections (MDOC) Technical Violation Center?

The third question asks who is responsible for the housing and medical costs of an
inmate who has been revoked but has not been transferred to a Mississippi Department
of Corrections Technical Violation Center. We understand that on occasion, ptisoners
are serving their entire probation revocation period in the county jail. Under the
statutes, this does not shift the financial burden of prisoner housing to the county.
Section 47-7-37 assumes that upon revocation, the probationer becomes a state
prisoner again. Once revoked, Section 47-7-37 requires the offender to be sentenced to
a restitution center or technical violation center operated by MDOC. The offender is
clearly a state inmate, and MDOC is required to pay for the housing, medical, and
transportation costs of such inmate. Section 47-5-901 allows MDOC to certify in writing
that space is not available to house an offender and have the person serve their
sentence in a county jail of the county where the person was convicted. Upon this
determination, MDOC is further required to determine the cost of food and medical
attention for the offender based on actual or contract prices; and upon submission of a
voucher from the county, MDOC is required to pay the county for housing the offender.
However, MDOC is prohibited from paying more than twenty (20) dollars a day per
prisoner to the county under Section 47-5-901(2).
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4, Is MDOC responsible for the housing/medical costs of a parole violator the
entire time that person is housed in a county jail?

As to the fourth question, the facts of a particular case would determine who is
responsible for the inmate’s housing/medical costs. We cannot answer this question in
the abstract. It is possible that a parole violator could be housed in the county jail and
be the responsibility of the county. For example, if the defendant committed another
felony and is incarcerated in the county jail awaiting trial, the county would be
responsible for the costs while the prisoner is awaiting trial on the new felony. Our
office discussed this issue in a prior opinion as follows:

Essentially, when a probationer or parolee is arrested for an unrelated
crime the prisoner is in the custody of the local government and the local
government must bear the costs of medical expenses. However, upon the
issuance of a warrant pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. Section 47-7-27 or
Section 47-7-37 the prisoner becomes a state inmate and the Mississippi
Department of Corrections must then bear the cost of medical expenses.
This does not mean that an inmate must be transported to and treated at
the hospital at Parchman, only that the county may be reimbursed

MS AG Op., Smith (April 6, 2001). The statutes clearly contemplate that MDOC is liable
for the expenses of a violator once they seek to have the violator revoked; and that
once a violator is revoked, he is a state prisoner. Accordingly, we reaffirm our opinion in
Smith.

If we may be of further assistance, please advise.
Sincerely,
JIM HOOD, ATTQRNEY GENERAL

oy M Z{(QAMM%

Emiko Hemleben
Special Assistant Attorney General
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