Events & Training

Complete Your Registration for the Spring PROSECUTOR CONFERENCE only Here

2014 Spring Prosecutors Conference

April 23-25, 2014 IP Resort, Spa & Casino Biloxi, MS The Prosecutor Training Division of the Attorney General’s Office identifies, develops and implements training and resource programs for prosecutors within the State of Mississippi and their supporting personnel.  In addition, this Division monitors criminal law as it develops in our State Legislature and alerts District Attorneys, City and County Attorneys, Youth Court Prosecutors and Special Assistant Attorneys General.  Two major conferences and several customized training classes each year provide prosecutors with resources and information that are needed to help prosecutors protect the rights of our citizens who are victimized. The 2014 Spring Prosecutors Conference offers Prosecutors twelve hours of continuing legal education, including one hour of ethics. Please send an email to ppett@ago.state.ms.us to register for this event.

Prosecuting the Drugged Driver Training at the 2014 MS Spring Prosecutors Conference

In order to register for the Prosecuting the Drugged Driver Training at the 2014 MS Spring Prosecutors Conference to be held at the IP Biloxi Casino, Resort and Spa on April 24th, please send an email to cbrow@ago.state.ms.us. Please include the following:

*Name
*Job Title
*Address
*Phone No.
*Email Address

NOTE** -  THIS IS A SEPARATE REGISTRATION FORM THAT MUST BE COMPLETED IN ADDITION TO THE ONE FOR THE PROSECUTORS TRAINING DIVISION.

LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING ANNOUNCEMENT

The Aberdeen Police Department will be hosting an 8-hour session on Domestic Violence Laws. The training will be provided by Special Assistant Attorney General Paula Broome with the Mississippi Attorney General’s Office and is free of charge.   The course will be an in-depth review of all domestic violence laws including stalking, strangulation, and any 2014 legislative changes in the area of domestic violence. The course will also address principal aggressor determination, investigation, and protection order enforcement. The course is geared to law enforcement but dispatchers, judges, prosecutors, court clerks, advocates and other city/county personnel are welcome to attend. Seating is limited. Continuing education credit will be available for law enforcement officers participating in the training.

May 20, 2014   *   8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.   (lunch on your own)

To be held at:    American Legion Post 126, 523 Highway 145 North, Aberdeen, Mississippi

Registration will begin at 7:30 a.m.  Regular breaks will be given throughout the day.

If you would like to attend, please complete a REGISTRATION FORM (one per attendee) and return per Registration Form instructions.

[In determining whether to attend, please note that this course is the full basic DV law course that is taught throughout the state and at all of the academies. The law content will be the same as past basic law courses with the exception of recent legislative changes.]

Domestic Violence Protective Order Registry Training – CLERKS

All Court Clerks in the State of Mississippi – This important training is a 4-hour session and will provide clerks or deputy clerks in a Municipal, Justice, County, Circuit or Chancery Courts with instruction on entering protection orders into the Protection Order Registry and entering dispositions in misdemeanor and felony domestic violence matters into the Uniform Offense Report via the ReportBeam System. Any court clerk or deputy court clerk having duties related to entering protection orders into the MS Protection Order Registry or entering criminal dispositions into the MS Uniform Offense Report who has not previously received training should attend one of these sessions. The training will also provide a review of the paperwork and procedures associated domestic abuse protection orders and laws related to domestic violence crimes.  More information will be provided when new training dates are scheduled.

Law Enforcement JusticeXchange: Criminal Information Sharing

Justice Exchange
Here is a helpful tool for certified law enforcement officers to help find suspects or witnesses. It’s offered free of charge to law enforcement officers only! Click on the Mississippi Association of Chiefs of Police web page or the image to the left and get registered. You may also download and share this JusticeExchange criminal information sharing program by clicking Law Enforcement Quick Start Guide for JusticeXchange.

Complete Your Registration for the Spring PROSECUTOR Conference Only here