Attorney General’s Office Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement Division Compliance Check Yields 13 Citations in Oxford for Selling Alcohol to Minors
The Mississippi Attorney General’s Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement Division in conjunction with the Oxford Police Department conducted alcohol and beer compliance checks in Oxford resulting in the issuance of 13 citations for selling alcohol to minors.
“The safety of our young people is at the heart of this law. It states very simply that it is it is illegal in Mississippi to sell alcohol to anyone under the age of 21,” said Attorney General Jim Hood. “College is an exciting and very important part of life, and we have a responsibility to help young people have as safe of an environment as possible. I want our young people and our retailers to be fully aware that we will continue to strictly enforce our compliance checks statewide, especially in college towns”
“Our thanks to the Oxford Police Department for their outstanding assistance in this effort.” Attorney General Hood also encouraged retailers to be proactive, saying, “The Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Division provides training for staff and management of any retail establishment which sells alcohol. I urge business owners and managers to contact my office, and ask for on-site training. The lives of our children and loved ones are at risk whenever alcohol consumption and driving are mixed. Other dangers include binge or excessive drinking which can also result in overdose, an accident or injury. Retailers who are vigilant in following the law can significantly improve a safe environment for all.”
In Oxford on September 17, the following businesses received citations when checked for compliance on selling alcohol to minors:
4 Corner Chevron 502 South Lamar Blvd VIOLATION
The Library 120 S. 11th St VIOLATION
The Burgundy Room 1112 Van Buren Ave VIOLATION
The Corner Bar 1002 Jackson Ave E 2 VIOLATIONS
Funkys 1012 Jackson Ave E 2 VIOLATIONS
Circle K #912 101 N Thacker Loop VIOLATION 2nd Offense w/in a year
Spot Store 1438 North Lamar Blvd VIOLATION 2nd Offense w/in a year
Levee of Oxford 1008 Jackson Ave 2 VIOLATIONS 2nd Offense w/in a year
Wards Short Stop 2502 Old Taylor Rd 2 VIOLATIONS 2nd Offense w/in a year
The following businesses in Oxford did not receive a citation when checked for compliance on selling alcohol to minors:
Double Quick #24 1401 Jackson Ave
Three Way Store 1500 Old Hwy 7N
Texaco Express Shop 2018 University Ave
The Brittany Store 1903 Jackson Ave W
Lindseys Chevron 321 N Lamar
Lamar Express 1448 South Lamar Blvd
According to state law, any person selling beer to a person under the age of 21 years can face a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail or both. Any place of business making a sale of beer to an underage person can be fined and/or suffer administrative charges. For a first offense, a retailer may be fined not less than $500 but not more than $1,000 and/or be prohibited from selling beer for three months. For a second offense occurring within 12 months of the first offense, a fine of not less than $500 but not more than $1,500 and be prohibited from selling beer for six months. For a third offense occurring within 12 months of the first offense, a fine of not less than $1,000 but not more than $5,000 and be prohibited from selling beer for one year.
Attorney General Hood concludes, “If you sell alcohol to anyone under the age of 21, you will pay a hefty fine to the State, and if you continue to sell you could lose your permit to sell. We appreciate the support and commitment of local law enforcement agencies, and I am certain that our combined efforts will vastly help reduce the sale of alcohol to underage drinkers,” said Attorney General Jim Hood.
During the past fiscal year, the Attorney General’s Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement Unit has conducted more than 6,000 compliance checks with 203 buys for a 3.28% buy rate across the state.