These legal forms may be printed directly from the Attorney General’s website. The forms were developed by the Domestic Violence Division in cooperation and consultation with judges, law enforcement and prosecutors around the State of Mississippi, as directed by the Mississippi Legislature, and are mandated for use in domestic abuse proceedings brought pursuant to Miss. Code Section 93-21-1 et seq.. Additional forms will be posted as they are developed, so please continue to check our website for new forms. If you have any questions regarding these forms, please contact the Domestic Violence Division.
Updated forms will be available soon!!!!
Ex Parte Emergency Domestic Abuse Protection Order -An Ex Parte Emegency Order is issued immediately without prior notice to the other party, upon a showing of immediate and present danger of abuse. Emergency orders are general issued only in municipal, justice and county courts, but may also be issued by chancery courts in some circumstances. An Emergency Order can be valid for 10 days, but can be extended by order of the issuing court for periods of up to 20 additional days.
Temporary Domestic Abuse Protection Order -A Temporary Order is issued by a municipal or justice court after a full hearing to which the respondent has been provided notice and an opportunity to be heard has been held and the judge has determined the petitioner is a victim of domestic abuse. A Temporary Order is valid for a maximum time period of 30 days and cannot be extended.
Final Domestic Abuse Protection Order -A Final Order can be issued only by county and chancery courts after a full hearing to which the respondent has been provided notice and an opportunity to be heard has been held and the judge has determined the petitioner is a victim of domestic abuse. A Final Order is valid for as long as the judge decides and may have no expiration date.
Order to Continue Hearing and Extend Temporary Ex Parte Domestic Abuse Protection Order -This form is for use in situations in which an Emergency Order has been issued and the scheduled hearing cannot be held for whatever reason. This form sets a new hearing date and extends the ex parte order until that time. This order must be served on the Respondent.
Order to Amend Domestic Abuse Protection Order -This form is for use when a hearing has been held, a temporary protective order has been issued, and the order needs to be extended.
Order Dismissing Petition for Domestic Abuse Protection Order -This order is for use in circumstances in which the petitioner fails to appear for the designated hearing, or requests that the petition be dismissed. This form provides that the petition is dismissed without prejudice.
Order Denying Petition for Domestic Abuse Protection Order This order is for use after a hearing in which the Petitioner does not meet the burden of proof that he/she is entitled to a domestic abuse protective order.
Order Denying Petition for Domestic Abuse Protection Order and Assessing Costs to Petitioner -This order is for use after a hearing in which the court makes specific findings that the petition was without merit and that the petitioner is NOT a victim of domestic abuse. The court in that circumstance, is permitted by statute, but not mandated, to assess court costs to the petitioner.